Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Childrens Corner

Children's Corner (1908)

Debussy's suite Children's Corner (Coin des Enfants) was composed in 1908 for his daughter Chouchou, who was five years old by then. The score, for which the composer designed the front cover as shown here, bears the loving dedication
A ma chère petite Chouchou, avec les tendres excuses
de son Père pour ce qui va suivre.
C. D.
To my dear Chouchou, with tender excuses
for her Father for what is to follow.

These pieces inhabit the same sound world as Schumann's Kinderszenen and Fauré's Dolly Suite, and show a gentler and more intimate side of the composer than usual. Despite its name, and the apparent simplicity of the piano writing, this suite is by no means kids' music, and it has become a perennial favourite of audiences and pianists alike.


Complete recording by Renouf, J.

Debussy - Children's Corner (1908)
Recorded july 2013
1 Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum 2:01
2 Jimbo's Lullaby 3:00
3 Serenade of the Doll 2:26
4 The Snow is Dancing 2:24
5 The little Shepherd 2:16
6 Golliwogg's Cakewalk 2:43

Complete recording by Breemer, C.

Debussy - Children's Corner (1908)
Recorded november 5, 2011
1 Doctor Gradus as Parnassum 2:46
2 Jimbo's Lullaby 3:39
3 Serenade of the Doll 3:07
4 The Snow is Dancing 3:04
5 The little Shepherd 2:26
6 Golliwogg's Cakewalk 2:51

Complete recording by Pascale, T..

Debussy - Children's Corner (1908)
Recorded june 5, 2006 
1 Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum 2:12
2 Jimbo's Lullaby 3:10
3 Serenade of the Doll 2:15
4 The Snow is Dancing 2:16
5 The little Shepherd 1:50
6 Golliwogg's Cakewalk 2:29

2 Jimbo's Lullaby 3:49 Lee, J.
5 The Little Shepherd 2:45 Lee, J.
6 Golliwogg's Cakewalk 3:22 Assimakopoulos, P.
Jan 7, 2016
Page Views:

Share This Page