Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.


The eight pieces that comprise the Novelletten were composed during a period of great struggle Robert Schumann experienced in February of 1838. Friedrich Wieck's vehement opposition to the inevitable union of his daughter Clara with the unstable Robert continued to escalate with no signs of subsiding.

Schumann himself once stated: "This work is a series of longish tales of adventure… intimately connected and written with passionate joy -- cheerful and flighty…but somewhere I also hit rock bottom."

I. Markiert und Kräftig 6:13 Robson, J.
IV. Ballmässig. Sehr munter 3:28 Robson, J.
Jan 7, 2016
Page Views:

Share This Page