Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

5 Pieces Op. 3

Rachmaninov's Five Pieces (Cinq Morceaux pour piano) Op.3 were written in 1892, when he was only 19 years old, his first published piano work. The set consists of the following items:


Especially the first three have achieved considerable popularity. The Prélude is surely Rachmaninov's most famous work, and one of the best known piano pieces of all times. Overshadowing his sets of Préludes Op. 23 and Op.32 in popularity, if not in quality, it is often referred to as THE prelude of Rachmaninov - which did not please the composer at all as he considered it nothing special.


1 Elégie 5:27 Stehlik, B.
1 Elégie 5:43 Villeneuve, M.
2 Prélude in C sharp minor 4:19 Kopp, S.
2 Prélude in C sharp minor 3:30 Ståhlbrand, R
3 Melodie in E Major (rev.1940) 4:08 April, D.
Jan 8, 2016
Page Views:

Share This Page