Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

5 Piano Pieces Op. 75 (1914-1919)

The 5 Piano Pieces op. 75 were written by Jean Sibelius between 1914 and 1919. They take a special place in his large piano oeuvre because of the consistent high inspiration and interesting piano writing (which can not always be found in his other piano works), and the set is one of the most deservedly popular of the many sets and cycles of character pieces that Sibelius produced throughout his composing career.

A 'hommage' to five different species of trees, these atmospheric miniatures hauntingly evoke the Finnish landscape and never outstay their welcome.


Complete recording by Breemer, C.

Recorded may 1, 2009
1 Kun pihlaja kukkii (When the rowan tree blossoms) 1:59
2 Yksinaïnen honka (The lonely pine) 2:01
3 Haapa (The aspen) 3:03
4 Koivu (The birch) 1:54
5 Kuusi (The spruce) 2:54
Jan 7, 2016
Page Views:

Share This Page