DONATION STATUS
Needed before 2016-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 805

Submission

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by KeenanReimerWatts, Apr 14, 2011.

1. KeenanReimerWatts

KeenanReimerWatts New Member

Student at Wilfrid Laurier University, just done f
    Hi!
    Here is an attempted post of my own composition, Nocturne, for submission. If I'm not posting this correctly, please let me know! I am still new to this whole system.
    Anyways, This is my Nocturne It was recorded live at a recital at my school, Wilfrid Laurier University, on a Yamaha. The recording quality might not be to great, but you can hear the notes, at least.
    Little bits and pieces came over a bit, and I sort of just wove them together...this is what came out.

Hope you like it!

Keenan

2. musical-md

musical-md Active Member

Physician
    Last Name:
    del Rio
    First Name:
    Eddy
    Keenan,
    Let me just say briefly, that in my estimation this is a very well-crafted composition for piano! It bears unmistakable (IMO) influences of Ravel, Debussy and Scriabin. The recording is of fine quality but the volume is too soft. I was puzzled only by the title, as the work did not fit what I expected for a nocturne, but maybe that's just me. Good work! I hope you're doing more.

Regards,
    Eddy

3. RSPIll

RSPIll New Member

Church Musician, Choral Accompanist, Musical Theat
    Keenan,

That was a joy to listen to. The impressionist influences are definitely there.

How long have you been composing? Are you majoring in piano or composition or both?

Scott

4. KeenanReimerWatts

Thank you both! I have been told it is rather impressionistic.
    Well, I call it a nocturne because it seems to be in 3 parts, A/B/A'. There is a unifying theme at either end...and I like the word 'Nocturne'. I can't say that I know exactly how to title pieces appropriately but if anyone has suggestions let me know!