Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Sibelius - Impromptu Op. 5 No. 5 in b minor

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by jerryknight, May 14, 2010.

1. jerryknight

jerryknight New Member

Hi,

My first recording submitted here. This is Sibelius' wonderfully written b minor Impromptu - by far my favorite of his piano compositions. I was inspired to learn this by listening to Havard Gimse's masterful performance (Sibelius: Piano Music Vol. 1 - Naxos). Much of my interpretation is based on his performance, but I did not achieve his level of clarity and continuity. He plays it so fast without making it sound rushed.

I'm not a professional - just a life-long hobbyist, so don't judge the technical execution too harshly. :) The opening harp-like arpeggios are incredibly difficult. Ideally, I'd like the opening to sound as if it's starting from silence.

Recorded to MIDI and rendered using Pianoteq v3.6 with the C3 Solo Recording preset, if anyone's curious.

2. pianolady

pianolady Monica Hart, Administrator Staff Member Piano Society Artist Trusted Member

Last Name:
    Hart
    First Name:
    Monica