Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Scarlatti Sonata in B minor K. 27

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by Chopinesque, Feb 5, 2009.

1. Chopinesque

Chopinesque New Member

Systems Developer
    This is my first attempt at recording and I'm rather embarrassed to post it here, but I need to get used to being criticized so that I can improve my playing.

I’m aware that my control of tempo is rather terrible and this aspect requires more work. Please let me know if you have any criticisms or suggestions.

Thanks.

2. pianolady

pianolady Monica Hart, Administrator Staff Member Piano Society Artist Trusted Member

Last Name:
    Hart
    First Name:
    Monica
    Hi,

Overall, I think your style is fine. I think you should bring out those top cross-over notes a little more. They can hardly be heard. Also, I am not crazy about the very dry staccatos. There are slurs with them so they should be a bit smoother - not as detached. Maybe applying some pedal there will work.

3. techneut

techneut Active Member Piano Society Artist

Last Name:
    Breemer
    First Name:
    Chris
    For a first recording, quite good really. Nothing to be embarrassed of, and not much wrong with your control of tempo - even though your speed is not quite consistent. The couple of ritardandos sound idiomatic and are in good taste. No wrong notes that I could hear. The sound is very good and the playing, while not optimal yet, would be sufficient for the site - though perhaps you'll want to work on it a bit more. Some points where you can improve:

1) Be careful with the damper pedal. There are some ugly blurs, especially in the beginning.
    2) Use a firmer touch to avoid inaudible notes. Learn to treat weak and inaudible notes as mistakes.
    3) Work on more even touch and simultaneous attack.
    4) Don't cut off the track immediately after the last note. Let the sound die out and then wait 1-2 seconds more.