DONATION STATUS
Needed before 2016-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 805

Rhythm help needed

Discussion in 'Works in Progress' started by pianolady, Apr 7, 2014.

1. pianolady

pianolady Monica Hart, Administrator Staff Member Piano Society Artist

Last Name:
    Hart
    First Name:
    Monica
    I must be going nuts because suddenly I am not sure if I'm playing this correctly. It's the first bar and the first three notes. Actually, it's really just the first note. I can't explain it very well, so I made a 25-second recording. The first version is the way I usually play it. But then somehow I started playing the first note shorter and more staccato and now I'm wondering if I should stick to playing it this new way. I hope someone can straighten me out...it's a detail that I need to get right.

2. hreichgott

hreichgott New Member

Hi Monica,
    In the first version you're rushing the 8th note (the G#).
    The second version is correct. There isn't any rhythmic difference on the first two notes, but perhaps the staccato helps you hear the length of the 8th note more accurately?
    Heather

3. techneut

techneut Active Member Piano Society Artist

Last Name:
    Breemer
    First Name:
    Chris
    I have to disagree with Heather. I think the 1st version is the rhythmically correct as far as the first bar goes. I don't hear any rush on the G#. I don't like the too long pause after bar 2 though, that breaks the flow.

The second version suffers from a lazy dotted rhythm (to which I'm prone too if I don't watch out for it). The dotted figure is played as if it were notated as a triplet.

4. andrew

andrew Member Piano Society Artist

Home Page:
    Last Name:
    Wright
    First Name:
    Andrew
    http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/andrewwright
    TWITTER:
    arpeggio_andrew
    YOUTUBE:
    alkanliszt