Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Ravel Gaspard de la nuit

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by PinaNapolitano, May 16, 2009.

1. PinaNapolitano

PinaNapolitano New Member

pianist
    Hello to everyone, I am an Italian pianist, and this is my audition material for your site. I hope you enjoy it. I'm still finishing to record Scarbo, but will post it soon. This will be soon followed by Beethoven Op. 111, Chopin Barcarolle, Schonberg Funf Klavierstucke op. 23, and Prokofiev Tocatta, all material I am recording to use as a demo CD. I'd appreciate getting your feedback!
    Thanks!

ps - scarbo on page 2!

2. felipesarro

felipesarro New Member

System Analyst, for now
    and talking about Gaspard de la Nuit... here it is! :lol:

Your Ondine is good. I'd wish a calmer approach, then it should get a little faster in the middle, and not the opposite as I listen here, but I understand it's quite a difficult piece. I haven't listened to Le Gibet, because I never had much patience for this piece, so I won't be able to do adequate comments about it. :lol:

Looking anxious towards your Scarbo.

3. PinaNapolitano

pianist
    Thank you felipesarro. I usually ty to keep more or less the same tempo thoughout a piece, and expand rather than accelerate towards a climactic point. This has always been my artistic aproach to shaping a piece. In any case, I'll be rerecording Ondine - I am not yet satasfied with it. I listened to your noctuelles on youtube. I played Miroirs a few years ago, and for me you take quite a fast tempo with it. I find Miroirs to be the most advanced piece Ravel wrote for piano, very abstract, and no sense of regular bar lines, which means breathing becomes very important. In any case, it is very difficult on an upright, but well done in spite of that!
    About to record Scarbo...
    Thank you for the reply!

4. felipesarro

felipesarro New Member

System Analyst, for now
    Oh, sure!