Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Poulenc

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by John Robson, Sep 17, 2008.

1. John Robson

John Robson New Member Piano Society Artist

Retired
    Last Name:
    Robson
    First Name:
    John
    I'm hesitant to submit this, but after a glass of Cabernet, it doesn't sound too bad. The beginning of this drives me crazy because it sounds like a Negro Spiritual called "My Lord, What a Mornin'". I'd like to play this piece even slower than this is, but it's supposed to be faster. I love the subtle harmonies in the soft sections. I've played too much today and my hand will probably really be bad tomorrow.

Also a big favor: I learned to amplify works that were recorded at a low input level. The Nocturne No. 4 is difficult to hear at the current level. So I request that you replace it with this amplified version. I guess I'm still learning to use Audacity. (Slow learner. :oops:)

Poulenc: Nocturne No. 1 in C Major

Poulenc - Nocturne No. 1 in C Major

Poulenc - Nocturne No. 4 in C minor

2. pianolady

pianolady Monica Hart, Administrator Staff Member Piano Society Artist Trusted Member

Last Name:
    Hart
    First Name:
    Monica
    I 'clink' my glass of merlot to your glass of cabernet. (not really - only coffee in my cup right now)

Ok - I have replaced the no. 4 and added the no. 1. I see what you mean about that spiritual. Thanks a lot for planting that one in my head this morning! :x :) And it sure doesn't seem like it should go any faster.

Nice job, John - I think I'd like to look at Poulenc again one of these days. I like his music.