DONATION STATUS
Needed before 2016-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 750

Metronome

Discussion in 'General' started by In-Flight Piano, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. In-Flight Piano

    In-Flight Piano New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Home Page:
    WEBSITE:
    http://www.united-virtual.com
    Is it cheating to record with the metronome on silent flashing in order to keep the tempo steady while you play?
     
  2. musical-md

    musical-md New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Physician
    Location:
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    LOCATION:
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    But why would you want to play with metronomic regularity? :?:
     
  3. Terez

    Terez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Gulfport, MS, USA
    WLM:
    terez2727@hotmail.com
    AOL:
    terez2727
    LOCATION:
    Gulfport, MS, USA
    I recorded the pedal track for the Bach passacaglia with metronome so that I could practice over it. I don't suppose that's what you're talking about, but I don't see a problem with it. Some pieces benefit from metronomic regularity, or something close to it anyway.
     
  4. musical-md

    musical-md New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Physician
    Location:
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    LOCATION:
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    If you're recording tracks then I think it is perfectly acceptable 8)
     
  5. jedidiah

    jedidiah New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see there's a problem, but of course learning the piece to the point of you not needing the metronome anymore is the goal. But when you practice if you have a hard time with the rhythm, i don't see there's a problem with using it.
     

Share This Page