DONATION STATUS
Needed before 2016-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 805

Edirol R-09

Discussion in 'Repertoire' started by John Robson, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. John Robson

    John Robson New Member Piano Society Artist

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Last Name:
    Robson
    First Name:
    John
    LOCATION:
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Hi strangers, :wink:

    We have been having a little wind and lots of lightning and rain the past few days---normal rainy season. I don't know if that has anything to do with my problem. I think not.

    My Edirol is playing games with me. It will record about 2 minutes and then it stops recording. I can't figure out why. Also, when I load it in the computer, I can't play the recording the way I usually do at first. (w/Windows Media Player). When I try to play it, it says I have to download a Codex. I tried to download, but the address they provided wouldn't open. However, I can play and edit in the Audacity program. Then I can export it to my computer and play it in Windows Media Player. Any ideas? However, the pieces stop after about 2 minutes. I should have a lot more space than that to record.

    I've double checked the Recording Configuration: WAV16bit, Frequency: 46 kHz. I don't know what else to do.

    I appreciate any help you can give me.

    Thanks,
    John
     
  2. Nicole

    Nicole New Member Piano Society Artist

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Piano Teacher
    Location:
    Canada
    Home Page:
    Last Name:
    Muller
    First Name:
    Nichole
    WEBSITE:
    http://www.pianosociety.com/cms/index.php?section=397
    LOCATION:
    Canada
    Could your Edirol batteries maybe be running low or malfunctioning?
     
  3. techneut

    techneut Active Member Piano Society Artist

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,930
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Last Name:
    Breemer
    First Name:
    Chris
    LOCATION:
    Netherlands
    It may be stating the obvious, but could it not simply be your flash card is full ? I had the same behaviour when I did not realized I had filled it up. Or maybe it's too fragmented. Do you ever clean it up ? I start each recording session with a 'Format card' command so as to have the maximum space available. I believe that just as with a much-used hard disk, regular defragmentation or formatting is necessary.

    Not sure about these other problems but these are maybe caused by your files not being properly terminated.
     
  4. pianolady

    pianolady Monica Hart, Administrator Staff Member Piano Society Artist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8,716
    Likes Received:
    1
    Last Name:
    Hart
    First Name:
    Monica
    John, Are you still using the original card that came with the Edirol? Chris advised me to get a new and larger memory card, so I did and everything is good. I can record for a long time, now.
     
  5. John Robson

    John Robson New Member Piano Society Artist

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Last Name:
    Robson
    First Name:
    John
    LOCATION:
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Thank you, thank you, thank you

    Thanks for the advice. I still don't understand what the problem was, but it's working now. I went to Best Buy and talked to one of the "Geek Patrol" guys. I took the Edirol with me to show him. He was familiar with Edirol even though they don't sell the product. He looked at my sound/memory card and said I need a much larger one. So I bought a two gigabyte card which was on sale for $17. Now the Edirol records just fine. I don't understand why it started acting up all of a sudden, but at least it's working now. Thanks for the suggestion of getting a bigger sound card.

    By the way another thing is that today it is much slower downloading music from the Edirol to the computer, and I have to put it through the Audacity program in order to play it. That never happened before. When I try to listen the way I always did, it says I have to download a Codex. What the hell is a Codex on a computer? I think there might be a ghost in my computer fooling around with me. I've had several strange things occur the last week or so.

    Anyway, muchas gracias por su ayuda.
     
  6. techneut

    techneut Active Member Piano Society Artist

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,930
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Last Name:
    Breemer
    First Name:
    Chris
    LOCATION:
    Netherlands
    The problem was, that you were using the default 64Mb memory card the comes with the Edirol. That is totaly utterly peanuts. Maybe you had (accidentally) changed your settings to the highest quality, in which case the card can hold only a couple of minutes of music. Two giga is adequate and at least lests you record 2 hours of 24-bit WAV music. You should have bought the biggest one available though... I wish I had a 4GB but back when I ordered my Edirol this was not guaranteed to work.

    The fact that you suddenly get asked for a codex (which is a conversion program for a very specific sound format) also suggests that maybe you have changed something on the Edirol. I recommend that you take the manual and go thru all your settings.

    Or maybe something changed on your PC like a new version of your music player which does not yet have the required codexes installed. If it says it wants to download one, just let it have its way.
     
  7. Didier

    Didier Member Piano Society Artist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Last Name:
    Brest
    First Name:
    Didier
    LOCATION:
    France
    Should be 44 kHz, is'nt it ?

    I encounter the same behaviour of WMP like you, when I try to make it reading a 24 bit recording. Then it looks on internet for a codec, which is the file needed for reading the audio files having a given format. But it seems that the 24 bit wav codec does not exist for WMP. To check what is the format of an audio file, I make a right clic on it, left clic on Properties (I'm not sure about the English translation), then on ID Tag.
     

Share This Page