Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Conquering Beethoven, One step at a time

Discussion in 'Repertoire' started by Caters, Aug 1, 2019.

1. Caters

Caters New Member Trusted Member

Last Name:
    Cheyanna
    First Name:
    Ward
    I am a very advanced pianist if you don't know already. I have decided that on some days, I will play the most challenging piece by Beethoven that I know of. It will only be on some days because the first movement alone is exhausting even when played slow. No, it isn't a sonata. No, it isn't a concerto either. Let me give you a hint. It is a transcription of one of the most well known pieces. Got it yet? No? Well this will give it away:

Ba Ba Ba Bum, Ba Ba Ba Bum

That's right, I'm tackling Beethoven's fifth symphony. Specifically, the Liszt transcription.

Here is the PDF of the transcription I am learning:
    http://conquest.imslp.info/files/imglnks/usimg/9/99/IMSLP01056-Beethoven-Liszt_Symphony-5.pdf

I played the first movement of it yesterday hands separate, and believe me, it is hard. Way harder than the Pathetique Sonata hard. But since when has a hard piece stopped me from learning it? Never.

In a way, the left hand is much easier in the first movement. Sure, it is almost all in octaves. But there are a lot of long notes, unlike with the right hand. Even when I play it very slowly, my fourth and fifth fingers of my right hand get quite tense. And it is hard to find a place to release that tension because there are way fewer rests and long notes than there are for the left hand.

In the places where a 10th or larger interval is written, in the left hand, I simply double the bass note which happens to get my left hand into comfortable octave position every time. For the right hand, I still need to figure things out. Some of the diminished 7th chords are pretty uncomfortable as well, especially those that have the root doubled an octave higher. So I omit one of the notes, specifically the seventh.