DONATION STATUS
Needed before 2017-12-31
$ 1,000
So far donated
$ 1,045
Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2016.
A big thank you to Project Petrucci who has helped us already meet our 2017 goal!

beethoven moonlight 3rd movement

Discussion in 'Technique' started by echoyjeff222, Aug 8, 2015.

1. echoyjeff222

echoyjeff222 Member Piano Society Artist

Last Name:
    Lee
    First Name:
    Jeffrey
    Hi all,

I'm wondering what tempo I should aim toward for this movement. I've been practicing it for the last 8 months or so (took a 2 month hiatus, been practicing it more seriously in the last few weeks), and I have finally got it up to a decent speed. I'm currently playing around 140 bpm apprx. without the metronome. I'm not sure how to practice from here on forward. I just put the tempo on 145 and tried practicing along. I fell behind at a few spots, mostly because I relax the tempo at points throughout the piece. I listened to some recordings, and they're all decently fast.

This is a very tough piece, so I'm not sure how to proceed. Does anyone have some tips on where to take the tempo? Master it at around 135-140? A little faster? Thanks.

2. jlr43

jlr43 Member Piano Society Artist

Technical Editor
    Last Name:
    Renouf
    First Name:
    Joe
    Hello Jeff,