Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Bach (Well-Tempered Clavier) and Chopin (Nocturnes)

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by freakintiger, Aug 11, 2008.

1. freakintiger

freakintiger New Member

Hi, this is my first attempt at Piano Society :eek:

I'd like to present you my recordings of Bach and Chopin:

2. pianolady

pianolady Monica Hart, Administrator Staff Member Piano Society Artist Trusted Member

Last Name:
    Hart
    First Name:
    Monica
    Hi and welcome to Piano Society.

I have only listened to your Chopin. There are others here more qualified to critique your Bach.

Over all, your playing sounded nice. There are just a few little things I'd like to point out. Some of them I'm not sure if they are just plain slips, or if they are reading errors.

72/1 - This was nice all throughout. Maybe just a bit on the fast side, but that's only my opinion.

9/2 - bar 1 - Two inaudible notes in LH so the harmonies were not quite on. Actually now that I listened further, I think one of those harmonies is a wrong chord. Same chord occurs in bar 5 - the LH sixth 8th note. I show that it is a C-flat, D, A-flat. Not sure, but I think you hit something different.

bar 12 and 20. Not crazy about the way you played the first set of staccato/slurred notes. Sounded pretty jarring - I first thought there was something wrong with the file, like it had stopped, or my speakers went out. This piece can really have no harshness, I feel.

bar 19 - LH fifth 8th note - top note is a C.

bar 32 - not crazy about how much you slowed down on the LH 8th notes. It kind of wrecked your RH phrasing, the C-flat to B-flat. I think you are playing on a digital piano so perhaps that's also adding to the fact that the long notes do not last long enough (?)

Hope you are not offended by this. Like I said before, your playing is nice - runs clean and accurate, and your tone is good and gentle.

3. freakintiger

freakintiger New Member