DONATION STATUS
Needed before 2016-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 805

Bach P&F + Chopin Waltz & Mazurka

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by MindenBlues, Dec 9, 2006.

1. MindenBlues

MindenBlues New Member Piano Society Artist

Home Page:
    Last Name:
    Schmidt
    First Name:
    Olaf
    http://www.family-schmidt-minden.de
    Here are some recordings I did yesterday on my fresh tuned piano.

Comments and critique as usual very welcome, helps to improve!

2. pianolady

pianolady Monica Hart, Administrator Staff Member Piano Society Artist

Last Name:
    Hart
    First Name:
    Monica
    I am listening to your Bach as I type. I'm not experienced with Bach enough to know what to listen for, but I think this sounds good to me. Very clear and steady.

The Waltz - Very Good! The only tiny thing I caught was a rhythm thing and it could be just a difference in editions. It happens twice - the first on measure 53, the second on the 20th measure from the end. I show the last two RH C and E-flat as a dotted eighth followed by sixteenth. That gives it that little "lilting effect'. I could be thinking more like mazurkas, though, and again, this is in my copy but maybe not yours. This sounds great.

Mazurka - Another nice job. Again, another tiny rhythm thing, and it could be just your style of rubato. It's on measure 8 and the other measures identical to it. I would hold out the half note all the way, but that's just me. This sounds great to me. I'm going to put it on my long list of pieces to want to learn someday. Your piano sounds good too.

3. techneut

techneut Active Member Piano Society Artist

Last Name:
    Breemer
    First Name:
    Chris