Thank you to all those who donated in 2015!

DONATION STATUS
Needed before 2016-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 595

Bach - BWV 647 - Wer nur den lieben Gott lasst wälten

Discussion in 'Submission Room' started by techneut, Oct 31, 2011.

1. techneut

techneut Active Member Piano Society Artist

Last Name:
    Breemer
    First Name:
    Chris
    Been a while since we had any organ stuff here ! And of course it was time to have Bach on the home page again :D

The third of the 6 so-called Schübler Chorales is unusual in that the pedal part uses a 4-feet register, causing it to sound higher than the manualiter parts.
    This takes some effort to get used to, as the ear and mind are conditioned otherwise.

Bach - BWV 647 - Schübler Chorales - 3: Wer nur den lieben Gott lasst wälten (3:45)

2. Kristinaolga

Kristinaolga New Member

Hello techneut, thanks for posting Bach’s BWV 647 “Wer nur den lieben Gott laesst walten”.

I cannot comment on the technicalities as I am a beginner, have no score to look at and have never played the organ (would love to do so though...).

I only can say what I feel about it. As the title implies, Bach shows his total confidence by putting his trust in God
    and the melody of the chorale implies Bach is humbly content with his decision.

You play this chorale on a very sensitive organ, perhaps an older one in a “Kirk” and that fits the context and Bach’s title of the chorale perfectly.
    It would not have been suitable to be played on a “bombastic majestic” organ.

I also like the tempo in which you play, which shows you have been thinking about this chorale and what type of organ it should be played upon.
    I think your interpretation fits the meaning of this work perfectly.

Talking of Bach, I have just recently been reading that Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy is supposed to have “re-discovered” Bach
    and brought him “back on the musical map again”.