Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Etudies D´Executions Transcendante op. 11

Liapounov - Etudes d'execution transcendante, Op.11
Liapounov's twelve transcendental études were composed between 1897 and 1905, and dedicated to Franz Liszt. They continue and complete the tonal sequence begun by Liszt in his set of twelve études, namely pairs of alternate major and relative minor key études where the tonic key rises by a fourth after each pair - Liszt having worked his way from beginning in C maj and A min to ending in Db maj and Bb min, Liapounov begins in F# maj and D# min. The études themselves are written with clear Lisztian influences, albeit with Russian, folksong and oriental tinges. The set calls for a well-developed technique and control of voicing is of paramount importance in several of the études.

5 Nuit d'Eté 10:06 Wright, A.
Jan 8, 2016
Page Views:

Share This Page