Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

24 Preludes and Fugues op. 82

24 Preludes and Fugues Op.82 (1997)

Nikolai Kapustin's monumental set of Preludes and Fugues, Op.82, completed in 1997, may well be the most important work written for piano in the genre since Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier and Shostakovich's 24 Preludes and Fugues Op.87.

In this sprawling collection, Kapustin combines his complete mastery of jazz idioms with a thorough assimilation of contrapunctal techniques like canon, imitation, inversion, and augmentation. Ingenuously, each prelude and fugue pair share their motivic material.

24 Preludes and Fugues Op.82 (1997)
1 Prelude and Fugue in C major 4:00 Breemer, C.
3 Prelude and Fugue in F major 3:34 Breemer, C.
4 Prelude and Fugue in C sharp minor 4:45 Breemer, C.
19 Prelude and Fugue in A major 5:20 Breemer, C.
22 Prelude and Fugue in B flat minor 3:14 Breemer, C.

Jan 8, 2016
Page Views:

Share This Page