Thank you to those who donated to Piano Society in 2017.

Bachianas Brasileiras

The Bachianas Brasileiras constitute a series of nine suites written for various combinations of instruments and voices. In these pieces Villa-Lobos sought to combine his profound admiration for Johann Sebastian Bach with his love for the music of his country. 
Bachianas Brasileiras is the only one for piano solo. It was written between the years 1930 and 1940 and was orchestrated in 1941. There are four movements in the set:

1. Prelude (Introdução)
2. Choral (Canto do Sertão)
3. Aria (Cantiga)
4. Dance (Miudinho)


1 Prelude 4:11 Sarro, F
1 Prelude 3:26 Zoellner, D.



Jan 6, 2016
Page Views:

Share This Page