Piano Society
Free Classical Keyboard Recordings
It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:04 am

All times are UTC - 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: editing program
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:20 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 8532
My old audio editing program (Wavepad) does not work anymore and so I need to replace it. I know about Audacity - in fact I do still have it operating fine. But I found that Audacity alters the sound quality when converting my files from wav to mp3, so I always did that in the other program. Before I purchase a new version of Wavepad, I am wondering if you members can tell me what program you use, and if you'd still recommend it.

_________________
"Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties." ~ Frederic Chopin

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands
I can still recommend CoolEdit (nowadays called Adobe Audition). I think these programs are like cars - all good but whichever you choose, there's always gonna be one or two little things you don't like.
But why should you need to buy a new WavePad just because you have a new computer ? What is the problem with it ?

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 8532
It just won't open. I have the program on this computer, but when I tried to open it, I got a message saying that it won't work with Windows 7. So then I went to their website to see if I could get an updated version, but they want me to pay for it again. That's why I'm not sure if I should do that or maybe try another program, instead. I'll check out that Adobe program, thanks for the tip.

_________________
"Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties." ~ Frederic Chopin

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands
Blimey, that is a rip off :shock:
I thought anything that works on XP or Vista was supposed to work in Windows 7. Puts me right off the idea up upgrading....

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 8532
Just checked out Adobe Audition. Do you have the free version, or did you buy it? They want $350 for it. :shock:

_________________
"Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties." ~ Frederic Chopin

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands
pianolady wrote:
Just checked out Adobe Audition. Do you have the free version, or did you buy it? They want $350 for it. :shock:

Any more daft questions :lol:
It's Cool Edit Pro V2.0 quite old (2002), long before Adobe snapped it up, but works for me. This can still be downloaded, including a crack, even a newer version (2.1) from various torrents. Your sons will know hot to do that, I guess.

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:33 am
Posts: 224
techneut wrote:
Blimey, that is a rip off :shock:
I thought anything that works on XP or Vista was supposed to work in Windows 7. Puts me right off the idea up upgrading....


That's Microshaft for you. :lol:

_________________
Best regards,
Horowitzian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:14 pm
Posts: 536
Location: Illinois
techneut wrote:
Blimey, that is a rip off :shock:
I thought anything that works on XP or Vista was supposed to work in Windows 7. Puts me right off the idea up upgrading....


Heck, with Microsofts history, its amazing that anything even works on XP or Vista. You expect anything to work beyond that?


Scott


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands
I see Microsoft bashing is a popular game here too. All Mac users, I guess.
However seeing that they're powering, what, 90%, of the home PC market, and an ever-growing share of the commercial server market, while yet doing massive technological innovation, I believe they are doing an amazing job despite the numerous goof-ups. Whether we need major new Windows versions evert year or so is debatable of course. But this happens anywhere else too.
Professionally, I can't help having respect for them.

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 8532
I am liking Windows 7 much more than Vista. Still haven't figured everything out yet, but so far, so good.

_________________
"Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties." ~ Frederic Chopin

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:33 am
Posts: 224
techneut wrote:
I see Microsoft bashing is a popular game here too. All Mac users, I guess.
However seeing that they're powering, what, 90%, of the home PC market, and an ever-growing share of the commercial server market, while yet doing massive technological innovation, I believe they are doing an amazing job despite the numerous goof-ups. Whether we need major new Windows versions evert year or so is debatable of course. But this happens anywhere else too.
Professionally, I can't help having respect for them.


Since they are convicted monopolists, I don't trust 'em as far as I can throw 'em. ;)

_________________
Best regards,
Horowitzian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:59 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands
Trust them, that is another matter... I'm referring to their technology which is not half as bad as many people seem to think. Yes they're monopolists, are they not all ? Or aspiring to be ? They do, at last, make a honest effort to listen to their users. I still prefer the Microsoft monopoly to the anarchy of Linux, of which there are at least 3 or 4 dozen different versions, and where you have to rely on some happy hacker to fix your problem.

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:14 pm
Posts: 536
Location: Illinois
techneut wrote:
I see Microsoft bashing is a popular game here too. All Mac users, I guess.
However seeing that they're powering, what, 90%, of the home PC market, and an ever-growing share of the commercial server market, while yet doing massive technological innovation, I believe they are doing an amazing job despite the numerous goof-ups. Whether we need major new Windows versions evert year or so is debatable of course. But this happens anywhere else too.
Professionally, I can't help having respect for them.


I'm a PC and I bash them anyway. I'm an equal opportunity basher.

Actually, when programs (particularly specialized programs) don't work on an operating system upgrade, it is often because the author's of the program used some sleight of hand to provide a feature or get additional speed -- they didn't follow the rules. They entered the OS through some hidden door.

Scott


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands
RSPIll wrote:
Actually, when programs (particularly specialized programs) don't work on an operating system upgrade, it is often because the author's of the program used some sleight of hand to provide a feature or get additional speed -- they didn't follow the rules. They entered the OS through some hidden door.

That could be so, especially with older software. But typical software these days doesn't do that and yet will often break because of a change of behaviour in OS components or interfaces, forcing the programmer to make changes. But I guess this is so far OT now that it won't be of any interest to most here.

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 8532
I've been meaning to ask a question for about the past five years but kept forgetting: When you all click on a PS file, does it open in Quicktime? It does for me (unless I'm doing admin business and have to 'save file' the recording). Is it possible to change this so that another program opens? All my other stuff opens in Windows Media Player and I wish the PS recordings did as well.

The reason I'm asking this now is that when I click on PS recordings, Quicktime opens but all I get is a black skinny rectangle - there is no stop/play/pause button. Here is a screenshot of what I see:

Image

_________________
"Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties." ~ Frederic Chopin

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:33 am
Posts: 224
techneut wrote:
Trust them, that is another matter... I'm referring to their technology which is not half as bad as many people seem to think. Yes they're monopolists, are they not all ? Or aspiring to be ? They do, at last, make a honest effort to listen to their users. I still prefer the Microsoft monopoly to the anarchy of Linux, of which there are at least 3 or 4 dozen different versions, and where you have to rely on some happy hacker to fix your problem.


Linux was never really meant for the ordinary user. However, Ubuntu is a step in the right direction on that front.

Mac OS X is the better operating system for the ordinary user for several reasons. Primarily, it has a nice interface. And under the surface it is BSD Unix. And Unix >>>> Windows any day of the week. :wink:

_________________
Best regards,
Horowitzian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:33 am
Posts: 224
pianolady wrote:
I've been meaning to ask a question for about the past five years but kept forgetting: When you all click on a PS file, does it open in Quicktime? It does for me (unless I'm doing admin business and have to 'save file' the recording). Is it possible to change this so that another program opens? All my other stuff opens in Windows Media Player and I wish the PS recordings did as well.

The reason I'm asking this now is that when I click on PS recordings, Quicktime opens but all I get is a black skinny rectangle - there is no stop/play/pause button. Here is a screenshot of what I see:

Image


You can probably change the default somewhere. Sorry, I have little more than passing familiarity with Win7 so I can't help with specifics.

PS files open in the Quicktime browser plugin for me.

_________________
Best regards,
Horowitzian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:55 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:45 am
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands
It is your browser configuration that decides how to play mp3 and other files. Quicktime is default in Mozilla and I like that because it doesn't wait for the file to be downloaded, it starts playing right away. Not sure why this is broken for you, you could try to re-install the Quicktime plugin.
But it's easy to change. Click Tools->Options->Applications, and look up MPEG Layer 3 (mp3). In the right column it says 'Quicktime plugin'. Click on the arrow next to that, choose 'Other' and select Windows Media Player.

_________________
Nothing is always absolutely so -- Sturgeon's law
Chris Breemer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:38 pm
Posts: 8532
techneut wrote:
It is your browser configuration that decides how to play mp3 and other files. Quicktime is default in Mozilla and I like that because it doesn't wait for the file to be downloaded, it starts playing right away. Not sure why this is broken for you, you could try to re-install the Quicktime plugin.
But it's easy to change. Click Tools->Options->Applications, and look up MPEG Layer 3 (mp3). In the right column it says 'Quicktime plugin'. Click on the arrow next to that, choose 'Other' and select Windows Media Player.


Ok thanks. I like that Quicktime opens right away too, but I don't like that I see no duration time, and now I don't like that I can't see anything at all. I'll try fooling around with those options now.

_________________
"Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties." ~ Frederic Chopin

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group