Piano Society
Free Classical Keyboard Recordings
It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:17 am

All times are UTC - 1 hour

Post subject: Glenn Gould - 25th Anniversary of death
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:42 am 
And (via Google), 50th anniversary of the launch of the first Sputnik.

Glenn Gould, The Russian Journey

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:09 pm 

I enjoyed that, thanks for the link. :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:48 pm 
Thanks! I am a complete fan of Glenn.
He is my one of my complete idols.

Cheers!
Rod

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:40 am 

I love Gould's Bach interpretations. They are a bit romanticized, but I believe that modern interpretations are allowable. I only wish he didn't sing along when he plays.

Speaking of Bach interpretors, I recently heard Gyorgy Sebok's interpretation of the Bach-Busoni BWV 564 Adagio on Utube and was deeply moved, so much so that I am studying it now. I also heard the piece on the organ for which it was originally written, and much prefer the piano version. You could hear and appreciate the individual notes more readily.

Mozartiana

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:10 am 
Site Admin

Mozartiana wrote:
They are a bit romanticized, but I believe that modern interpretations are allowable. I only wish he didn't sing along when he plays.

I agree with you. And also about the singing thing. Pollini does that on a nocturne CD I have. It takes me 'out' of the music, somehow. (not sure that makes sense)

my videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/monicapiano
my personal website: http://www.monicaalianello.com

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:41 am 

It make sense.

I can barely hear Gould hum / sing when he recorded WTC 1 & 2. furthermore, he only hummed in a few recordings. It's not like he sang along to every piece!

Besides he had a nice humming voice. It wasn't too low or too high in pitch :wink:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:45 pm