Piano Society
Free Classical Keyboard Recordings
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:48 pm

All times are UTC - 1 hour

Post subject: another op.10 no.1 thread/greetings
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:40 pm 
Hey guys. I've been reading your posts on the forum for a few weeks and just joined. This is my first post and I just wanted to say hello to everybody and talk a little bit about myself and my relationship with the piano.

I'm a 26 year old architect in NYC, recently out of graduate school. I began playing the piano at age 11 and played regularly through high school and undergraduate. My teacher from ages 11-18 did not actually teach me a great deal; he basically sat beside me and told me when I hit a wrong note. Technical education was limited to Hanon exercises (which, contrary to many people on this forum, I believe to be very valuable if used correctly). In college I had an excellent teacher who really helped me develop my technique and musicality. I didn't play very much at all during graduate school (the last three years), but after graduating I purchased a digital piano (Yamaha P-140) I could fit in my tiny apartment and have been very happy with it so far.

For the last couple of months I have been working on Chopin's Opus 10 Etude #1 (along with a few other pieces I had learned in the past, including the three movements of the Pathetique, Mozart's "Ah! Vous Dirai-je, Maman" variations, and a couple of others). Right now I can play the entire etude pretty accurately at 100 bpm, pretty okay at 120 bpm, and I have begun to practice the first 16 bars at around 140 bpm.