Needed before 2015-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 1,335

Search Piano Society:

(Admins and Artists only)
Frederick Johnson

Frederick Johnson has performed internationally as a classical piano soloist, accompanist and organist. His varied repertoire highlights works from the 19th and 20th century with a focus on the Romantic and Impressionist composers including Chopin, Liszt, Grieg, Rachmaninoff, Tchaikovsky, and Debussy, although it is not unusual to hear a Mozart concerto or Beethoven sonata at one of his concerts as well.

Mr. Johnson began playing the piano at age 4, and gave his first recital at age 7. He studied for 15 years in Cleveland, Ohio with Ms. Helen Faber, a pupil of the late great Artur Rubinstein. While studying in Cleveland, he regularly gave recitals with the Fortnightly Musical Club of Cleveland, a part of the Cleveland Music School Settlement and he regularly competed in the National Federation of Music Clubs competitions in solo piano, piano concerto and organ categories.

He also attended the famed Interlochen Center for the Arts for 6 summers and studied piano and organ with many notable pedagogical and concert artists including Van Cliburn, Dr. Max Camp, Natalie Matanovic, Robert Murphy, Kenneth Sweetman and others. Additionally, Mr. Johnson graduated valedictorian of his class at the United States Armed Forces School of Music and played for dignataries while part of the United States Navy Band Program. He has played clarinet, oboe and auxillary percussion instruments for a wide range of classical and pop bands and orchestras.

Mr. Johnson has also served as choir director, accompanist and organist for a number of churches in including two in the Chicago area. He has a great appreciation for both choral and handbell works and has directed ensembles of all different sizes both in recital and competitive venues. His first love continues to be the grand piano and the master works created for it. Mr. Johnson holds both Bachelor and Master degrees.

My website:

Debussy - Reverie 
Rachmaninov - Preludes 
Rachmaninov - Moments Musicaux