Needed before 2015-12-31
$ 2,500
So far donated
$ 1,335

Search Piano Society:

(Admins and Artists only)
Sonata 1.X.1905

Sonata 1. X. 1905, also known as Janáček's Sonata, is a two-movement (originally three-movement) piano composition which Leoš Janáček composed in 1905. This sonata was originally entitled "From the Street".  Janáček intended this composition as a tribute to a worker who, on the date indicated by the title, had been bayoneted during political demonstrations in Brno, Czech Republic. The inscription on the piece reads, "The white marble of the steps of the Besední dům in Brno. The ordinary labourer František Pavlík falls, stained with blood. He came mere to champion higher learning and has been slain by cruel murderers".

Bertram, J.
Bertram, J.